Reduce Text SizeReset Text SizeIncrease Text Size

Mutual Aid

While emergency services operate within borders and jurisdiction, Peterborough area Fire Departments routinely provide aid to each other in times of need. This includes sharing expertise and equipment between area municipalities:
  • City of Peterborough
  • Otonabee-South Monaghan
  • Selwyn
  • Douro-Dummer
  • Havelock-Belmont-Methune
  • Cavan Monaghan
  • Trent Lakes
  • Norwood-Asphodel
  • North Kawartha
Peterborough County Departments have called upon other departments for large fires, transport accidents, equipment loans, technical advice, training needs, and fire prevention events.

Although this "Mutual Aid" has become entrenched in Ontario Fire legislation, the Peterborough-area Fire Chiefs have long-established this strategic alliance to offer aid to each other where resources allow, deal with issues before they become problems, and be proactive to local community issues affecting the area's Fire Services.
Twitter icon Google icon